Real Men

The other day I was watching a trashy low-rent early-evening cookery programme on Channel 4 (yes, that one) and it included a man from Wigan. He refused to eat several meals that were put in front of him for no apparent reason, but at the end of the week he revealed that he would not eat anything that was on the ‘Wigan List.’ This turned out to be a list of 50 foods that ‘Real Men’ don’t eat. “At the top of the list is quiche, and it also includes hummus and couscous.”

Fire man - West AfricaI have come across this ‘Real Men’ nonsense many times over the years and mainly it is in the form of some sort of joke, but this guy was serious about it. As a coach, I am struck by the fact that pronouncements about real men always relates to something they won’t do or won’t eat. I cannot ever remember seeing or hearing anything about what real men will eat or will do. All negatives, no positives.

SO, I hear you asking, how is this relevant to anything? We all have beliefs or taboos or perceptions that hold us back and prevent us from achieving our full potential. I expend a great deal of effort with clients trying to help them overcoming these limitations and establish new, positive beliefs so that they can move forward in their lives and become more successful.

Man feeding wild Hyenas - Harar, EthiopiaGenerally these beliefs come from childhood and are embedded in our subconscious by parents, teachers, siblings, classmates and bullies. I therefore find it sad that a person would deliberately sit down and compile a list of limiting beliefs.

SO, now I hear you asking, how does refusing to eat quiche hold you back and stop you reaching your full potential? In itself it probably doesn’t, but what it does do is embeds the belief in your subconscious that it is OK to reject new experiences and to refuse to change. And we all know that if you do what you always do, you get what you’ve always got.

Me holding snake - TogoSo come on all you real men out there, get a life, get a life coach! Give me a ring and I will help you to move past all this nonsense.

What can we learn from this?
• Nobody needs unnecessary restrictions on their development
• Labels (like real man) can hold us back
• Live dangerously – eat couscous

About thinklifecoach

I became a Life Coach after an extensive career in managing and leading teams in the rail industry. After many years in an industry that I was proud to be a part of, I came to the realisation that what I really liked about my role was helping and developing people. I was lucky to receive coaching myself and decided to make changes in my life. Now I have industry-recognised accreditation for coaching from both the Institute of Leadership and Management and the Coaching Academy, and I coach people full time. I'm passionate about helping people make a positive difference in their lives. If you feel ready, please get in touch for a no-obligation informal chat about yourself, and how coaching can help you realise your goals. If you want to know more, please see my website: www.thinklifecoaching.co.uk
This entry was posted in Coaching, Limiting Beliefs, Real Men and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Real Men

  1. backlinks says:

    My brother recommended I would possibly like this website. He
    used to be totally right. This publish actually made my day.

    You can not believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this information!
    Thank you!

  2. Westie says:

    Interestingly I have just watched this episode of ‘Come Dine With Me’, and my overwhelming feeling about the Wigan guy was “What an insecure and pathetic little man”. His sense of self appears to be based on avoiding certain foods that he percieves as challenging his masculinity because of what his friends might think. What on earth’s a “real man” fgs? This guy just struck me as an incredibly insecure person with traits of homophobia and sexism. Very sad in this day and age.

    • I totally agree with you on all points. I wasn’t sure whether I should detest him or pity him. As for what is a real man..? As a man myself I don’t feel inclined to comment, though I am, on the whole, real! Thanks for the comment, much appreciated. Clint

Leave a comment